CA0067_AAUW_hiresThe American Association of University Women-Napa County branch was chartered in 1929. In 2009, the branch celebrated its 80th anniversary in grand style with a luncheon at Silverado Country Club followed by a fashion show highlighting accomplishments and vintage fashions from each decade since the founding of the organization. Some branch highlights include:

1920s — Introduction of the Well-Bay Clinic, founded by member Dr. Ethel Priest.

1930s — Initiated the first nursery school in Napa.

1940s — Members contributed to the war effort, stepping in to fill the void left by the men at war with the motto, “We can do it!” Thanks to AAUW’s support, a full-time county health officer position was initiated.

1950s — Former branch president Elizabeth King Robinson became the first appointed Napa City Attorney. Member Jessamyn West, author of “Friendly Persuasion,” was the keynote speaker at the state convention.

1960s — The branch started holding ninth-grade girls forums, and college exploration teas for 11th-grade girls.

1970s — Saw the design of the popular Past Presidents Pin by member Gladys Johnson. Sales of the pin, worn by past AAUW presidents all over the country, have grown to approximately $100,000, with proceeds going to scholarship programs. The Volunteer Center of Napa County was created by a member, and several members served on the Napa County Commission on the Status of Women.

1980s — Members adopted a monthly involvement in the Table, which feeds the hungry at First Presbyterian Church. The Napa County Branch Scholarship Foundation was formed to award scholarships to local high school girls.

1990s — The branch participated in the Napa City-County Library grand re-opening. The Mary Lyons scholarship program selected its first recipient. The Napa County Branch Scholarship Foundation sent the first Tech Trek girls science and technology camp at Stanford University, and Napa County branch strongly supported Title IX and the opening up of sports programs for women.

2000s — Co-sponsored programs with Sonoma County branches for International Women’s Day and NARAL, and co-sponsored an exchange student from Tasmania with Napa Valley College. The Tech Trek program continues with 6-8 girls receiving scholarships to attend camp this year at UC Davis and Sonoma State University. The Adopt-a-Road program was instituted. An anti-bullying project was initiated with Napa schools, with concentration on cyber-bullying. Sallyann Berendsen, chair of the anti-bullying committee, attended the AAUW National Convention in New Orleans in 2013 as a speaker in a breakout session. College/University Partnership established with Napa Valley College and student AAUW Club was formed.

AAUW Napa County looks forward to serving the community for many more years!

Mona Humpert, our branch Historian, discovers a photo of her printed in the Napa Register when she was our branch president from 1965-1967.

Mona Humpert, our branch Historian, discovers a photo of her printed in the Napa Register when she was our branch president from 1965-1967.

* Deceased

1929-30 Stella Linscott*
1930-31 Bertha Warthorst*
1931-33 Altabelle Beall King*
1933-34 Gertrude Berg*
1934-35 Dr. Ethel Humphrys Priest*
1935-36 Esther Myers Umhalt*
1936-37 C. Alice Hawkins Riggins*
1937-38 Sarah Lynch*
1938-40 Mildred Swansan Denny*
1940-41 Elizabeth King Robinson*
1941-42 Vale Smith McCormick*
1942-43 Lionel Stevenson*
1943-44 Fores Hammond Crandall*
1944-45 Frances Greenleaf Barrow*
1945-46 Alma Cobb LaRue*
1946-47 Gladys Beck Johnson*
1947-48 Dorothy Coombs Robertson*
1948-49 Helen Kingsbury Sawyer*
1949-50 Alta V. Black Sheaf*
1950-51 Kathryn E. Haag Key*
1951-52 Josephine Moseley Lyerla* and Katherine Ann Nosler Rutherford*
1952-53 Ruth Bickford Northrop*
1953-54 Frances Corlett Howard*
1954-55 Eloise McCleave Considine*
1955-56 Jeanie Tetenman Goodwin*
1956-57 Jerry Wellborn Hemmerling*
1957-58 Lucy Proctor Case*
1958-59 Naomi Smith Bailey*
1959-60 Alice McMahon*
1960-61 Ruby Woodcock Henry*
1961-62 Erna Boettcher Hammerich*
1962-63 Dolores Fischer*
1963-64 Joan Ponsford Hildebrant*
1964-65 Elizabeth Stansfield Haworth*
1965-67 Mona Dilot Humpert
1967-68 Luree Stevens Hansen*
1968-69 Mary Hart Law Harrington
1969-70 Ruth Raeder von Uhlit *
1970-71 Kathryn Geibel Martin
1971-72 Betty Thompson Lieb*
1972-74 Polly Browne Rose*
1974-75 Mary Bertschi MacVitie*
1975-76 Evelyn George Price Hunley*
1976-77 Patricia Yoder Hetrick*
1977-78 Tracy Argens Talmage
1978-79 Dorothy Darling Brock
1979-80 Anne Bradley Greig*
1980-81 Madeline J. Chambille*
1981-82 Janet Ackerly Mendenhall
1982-83 Jewel Marie Bell Wood*
1983-84 Eleanor Smith Harnly
1984-85 Linda McComber Arens
1985-86 Joan Larson Glasier Havard
1986-87 Mary Kay Hansen Kaltreider
1987-88 Julie Noyes Yocum
1988-89 Margarett G. Killingsworth
1989-90 Catherine Tillotson Allen*
1990-91 Sue Dee Shenk
1991-92 Sue S. Stephenson Ziemski
1992-93 Beth Chandler Bywater*
1993-94 Florence Whisenant
1994-95 Dorothy Hartman Handy and Kaye Myers Carson*
1996-97 Jana Jack
1997-98 Elizabeth Henderson and Melinda Dittman
1998-99 Ev Vogt*
1999-00 Kimberly Medlin
2000-01 Linda Rominger
2001-02 Sally Hunter
2002-03 Tege Montmorency
2003-04 Mary Ann Formosa
2004-05 Portia Catania
2005-06 Karoline Hall
2006-07 Dorothy Hansen*
2007-08 Judy Magnuson
2008-09 Judy Magnuson and Sallyann Berendsen
2009-10 Sallyann Berendsen
2010-11 Keeta De Stefano and Lewis Kim Smith
2011-12 Keeta De Stefano Lewis, Portia Catania, Mary Kay Kaltreider, and Linda                                                             Rominger
2012-14 Pat Parker
2014-15 Toby Mitchell
2015-16 Pat Bardwell
2016-17 Pat Bardwell and Barbara Pahre
2017-18 Barbara Pahre
2018-19 Carolyn Stewart

TRANSFERS (Past Presidents)

Molly Craver Peck: Oakdale-Riverbank-Escalon, California 2014-2015
Elizabeth Groelle: Placerville, California 1994-96
Roberta Simcoe: Oxnard, California 1977-79, 1994-95
Krys Wulff: California State President 1998-2000